Basketball finals game dates announced | THE DAILY TRIBUNE | KINGDOM OF BAHRAIN

Basketball finals game dates announced

TDT | Manama                                                

The Daily Tribune –     

The Bahrain Basketball Association (BBA) has released the dates for the remaining games of the bestof-five championship series between Manama and Muharraq for this year’s title in the Zain Bahrain Basketball League.

Manama currently hold a 2-0 lead in the finals matchup, which is now headed for a short break to make way for Manama’s participation in the FIBA West Asia Super League (WASL) Final Eight in Dubai, taking place from Friday to June 17.

Game three has been set June 22, and, if needed, game four will be on June 26 with the decisive fifth game on June 30.

All three contests are set to be held at the Khalifa Sports City Arena in Isa Town, each with 7pm tip-offs.

Manama hold the record for most league titles in the Bahrain league, having claimed the coveted championship 23 times in the past, including last season’s crown.

Muharraq have won the title thrice in the past, in the 2007/2008 season, as well as in 2011/2012 and 2018/2019.

In the WASL Final Eight, Manama are in Group A of the competition along with Al Riyadi and Beirut First Club from Lebanon and Chennai Heats from India.

Group B features Kuwait SC of Kuwait, Shabab Al Ahli of the UAE, Shahrdary Gorgan from Iran and BC Astana from Kazakhstan.

Manama open their campaign against Riyadi on Saturday. They next play Chennai on Monday, before facing Beirut on Wednesday.

Following a single round-robin, the top two teams from each group move on to the knockout semi-finals on June 16, while the gold and bronze medal games are to be held the following evening.