Bahrain Victorious take team title | THE DAILY TRIBUNE | KINGDOM OF BAHRAIN

Bahrain Victorious take team title

TDT | Manama

The Daily Tribune –

Team Bahrain Victorious were yesterday crowned winners of the Team category as the world-renowned Tour de France 2021 wrapped up with the 21st and final stage ending in Paris.

The classification for the best team is an award that is calculated by taking into account the first three riders across the line from each squad and adding their times together.

Bahrain Victorious registered a total mark of 249 hours 16 minutes and 47 seconds for first place, beating out runners-up EF Education-Nippo by 19 minutes and 12 seconds. Jumbo-Visma came third among the teams one hour 11 minutes and 35 seconds off Bahrain Victorious’ winning pace.

Peio Bilbao was Bahrain Victorious’ best-ranked finisher on the Individual general ranking, placing ninth. Meanwhile, Bahrain Victorious rider Wouter Poels finished in second place in the Climber general ranking.

He had 88 points, finishing only behind title winner Tadej Pogacar who had 107 points. Elsewhere, Bahrain Victorious’ Sonny Colbrelli took third place in the Points rankings with 227. Teammate Matej Mohoric was not far behind in sixth with 163 points.

Team Bahrain Victorious, founded by His Majesty the King’s humanitarian work and youth affairs representative His Highness Shaikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalifa, competed in this year’s Tour de France with a seven-member squad, including Bilbao, Poels, Colbrelli, Mohoric, Marco Haller, Dylan Teuns and Fred Wright.

The Team Bahrain Victorious members received their awards in the final awarding ceremony held along the world-famous Champs-Elysees.

Pogacar claims Tour de France title

Tadej Pogacar became the youngest rider to win back to-back Tour de France titles on Sunday after some vintage racing drew comparisons with cycling’s greatest.

The 22-year-old Slovenian, who won the Tour on his debut last year, hammered his rivals in the Alps with a long-range attack on stage eight, reminiscent of the event in the 1980s, and stayed in control for the rest of the race.

He beat Denmark’s Jonas Vingegaard by a massive five minutes 20 seconds as Ecuador’s Richard Carapaz took third place, 7:03 off the pace as his Ineos Grenadiers team failed to spark once again after last year’s failure.

Pogacar finished Sunday’s 21st and final stage safe in the bunch as Belgian Wout van Aert prevailed in the sprint to beat compatriot Jasper Philipsen and Briton Mark Cavendish who were second and third, respectively. Pogacar watched from the inside of the bunch, raising his arms as he crossed the line.