Al Kaabi clinches Bahrain Open Golf | THE DAILY TRIBUNE | KINGDOM OF BAHRAIN

Al Kaabi clinches Bahrain Open Golf

Manama : Saleh Ali Al Kaabi from Qatar and Doha Golf Club clinched the two-day 54th Bahrain Open Golf Championship over 36 holes after carding 136 and four under par at Awali Golf Club (AGC) on Saturday.

Al Kaabi who also represents the Qatari national team carded a first day 67 as joint leader with Bahrain’s Nasser Yaqoub and along with Saqer Al Noaimi were all equal going into the back nine holes on 101.

Conditions changed dramatically on the second day of competition with light rain at times and overcast skies compared with the sunshine and a clear sky the previous day.

Al Kaabi made the most of the conditions and secured his victory with a superb birdie on the 18th hole for victory in a dramatic finale, which saw six-time Yaqoub only managing par and Saqer Al Noaimi securing a birdie to edge out Yaqoub for the runner-up spot on count back.

The top three overnight day one leaders, battled it out over the last nine holes with the threesome equal on 111 going into the 12th hole with Yaqoob and Al Noaimi carding a three with Al Kaabi dropping a shot and then became very interesting as the front three on the 15th hole with three holes to go were all on 124.

The 16th hole saw Yaqoub and Al Noaimi drop a shot and trail by a stroke, and this was so when all three players carded fours on the 17th hole, then a dramatic last hole which saw birdies for Al Kaabi to win the title ahead of Al Noaimi as Yaqoub lost out despite a par on countback.

The best front nine day two par or under scores were by Ali Saleh Ali and Saqer Al Noaimi (33), Saleh Al Kaabi, Nasser Yaqoub (34), Ronan Armstrong, Salem Kahlifa and Hamad Mubarak Al Afnan (35).

Final results: 

1. Salah Ali Al Kaabi (136)

2. Saqer Al Noaimi (137 on count back)

3. Nasser Yacoub (137)

4. Hamad Mubarak Al Afnan (141)

5. Abdulla Al Hakam (143 on count back)

6. Rory Young (143)

7. Ali Saleh (144)

8. Matthew Chalmers (144)

9. Ronan Armstrong (145), David Park (146).

Outside Main Prizes: 

Best Gross Day 1: 71 Nabeel Mohammed Saabt.