Mumbai claim record fourth IPL title with one-run triumph | THE DAILY TRIBUNE | KINGDOM OF BAHRAIN

Mumbai claim record fourth IPL title with one-run triumph

Lasith Malinga kept his nerve with the final ball as Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by one run to clinch a record fourth Indian Premier League title yesterday. After Shane Watson hit a blistering 80, Chennai needed two runs off the last ball to overtake Mumbai’s 149-8 but the Sri Lankan veteran bowled Shardul Thakur lbw to claim the landmark win.

Malinga gave away 49 runs in his four overs but the last two overs by the Sri Lankan and fellow pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah who took 2-14, were decisive. West Indies batsman Kieron Pollard smashed an unbeaten 41 off 25 balls to set up the Mumbai total after they elected to bat first.

“The team that panics less does better. It was a team performance,” said Pollard as the Mumbai players celebrated on the pitch. Watson batted through the Chennai innings until he was run out in the final over going for a reckless second run. He smashed four sixes and eight fours in his 59-ball knock.