*** ----> Haniya, Oktay secure ITF singles titles | THE DAILY TRIBUNE | KINGDOM OF BAHRAIN

Haniya, Oktay secure ITF singles titles

TDT | Manama                                                      

The Daily Tribune – www.newsofbahrain.com

Fifth seed Haniya Aman Minhas of Pakistan and seventh seed Ramazan Kaan Oktay of Turkey were yesterday crowned champions of their respective singles categories in the second Bahrain International Tennis Federation (ITF) Juniors Championship 2024.

The tournament came to a close at the Bahrain Tennis Federation (BTF) courts in Isa Town. Haniya clinched the girls’ singles crown while Oktay won the boys’ singles title.

For Oktay, it was his second straight triumph in the Kingdom, having also won his class in the previous ITF tournament held last month at the BTF.

Both Bahrain events were J30 competitions, held as part of the ITF World Tennis Tour Juniors Calendar 2024.

Haniya claimed her win after outclassing Alisa Grinkevich in their final 6-1, 6-2. Oktay, on the other hand, needed to go the maximum to take down top seed Eyad Reda Ezzat Mohamed Sherif of Egypt in a hotly contested title-decider.

After splitting the first two sets, Oktay finally got the better of his opponent to close out the match with a 7-6 (5), 6-7 (4), 6-4 score line.

Meanwhile, second seeds France’s Yelena Lebeau and Slovenia’s Luisa Fusil and fourth seeds Sherif and Dutch partner Oscar Reilly won their respective doubles titles.

Yelena and Luisa needed to go into a super tie-break to beat Romanian tandem Ioana Stefania Boian and Simona Cucu 6-3, 5-7, 10-7 and claim the girls’ doubles crown, while Sherif and Reilly won the boys’ doubles championship after defeating the Oktay and Turkish partner Utku Kerem Biberli 6-2, 7-6 (4).

Following all the finals, the winners and runners-up were presented their respective trophies in a ceremony attended by BTF secretary general Fuad Al Rowaie, BTF board members Mohammed Salman and Adnan Kamal, and the tournament’s general referee Ahmed Al Hawaj.


The doubles winners and runners-up with officials