*** ----> Sovereign Spirit lifts Bahrain Gold Cup | THE DAILY TRIBUNE | KINGDOM OF BAHRAIN

Sovereign Spirit lifts Bahrain Gold Cup

TDT | Manama                                                      

The Daily Tribune – www.newsofbahrain.com

Sovereign Spirit lifted the Bahrain Gold Cup, sponsored by STC, in the feature event yesterday (Mar 1) at Rashid Equestrian and Horseracing Club (REHC) in Sakhir.

The four-year-old gelding triumphed in the 10-furlong race, carrying a BD10,000 total prize, for owners Al Afoo Racing and trainer Jaber Ramadhan, while ridden by jockey Soufiane Saadi.

Finishing as the runner-up was Panning for Gold competing for Al Mohamediya Racing, Fawzi Nass and Neil Callan, while Chronograph came third for Al Adiyat Racing, AM Smith and Lee Newman.

The final prize winner in the event was Merlin’s Beard, finishing fourth for Al Mohamediya, Nass and Husain Makki.

The Bahrain Gold Cup was the final event of yesterday’s eight-race card, which marked the 25th meeting of the national racing season.

Various STC cups were won in each of the other races.


In race five, offering BD4,000 in prize money, Swift Asset claimed the STC Bahrain Sprint Cup for Shaikh Ebrahim bin Mohamed Al Khalifa, Jaber Ramadhan and Mohammed Jamil.

Swindler was second for Victorious, Yousif Taher and Ali Isa; Inveigle came third for Sayed Jawad Marzooq, Mahmood Jawad and Abdulla Al Hawaj; and Kaasib finished fourth for Al Mohamediya, Ali Abdulmajeed, and Hussain Asghar.

Meanwhile, Elwasme, Social Distancing and Celtic Champion all came away with STC Bahrain Cups in three other races, each offering BD3,000 in winnings.

Elwasme was victorious in the seventh event for Al Mohamediya, Ali Abdulmajeed and Neil Callan; Social Distancing claimed the win in race six for Al Adiyat Racing-Smith-Newman connections; and Celtic Champion triumphed in race three for the Al Mohamediya-Nass-Callan triumvirate.

Elsewhere yesterday, Torpedo won the STC Pay Cup for HH Shaikh Mohammed bin Abdulla bin Isa Al Khalifa, Haider Ebrahim and Alberto Sanna; Mughayer hoisted the STC Jusoor Cup for Mohammed Yousif Sarhan, Yousif Sarhan and Abdulla Al Hawaj; and Al Hamdany 1810 claimed the STC Waho Cup for Victorious and Yousif Taher, with Lee Newman in the saddle.