Djokovic ties Federer's record for most weeks as world No.1

Reuters | London

Novak Djokovic equalled Roger Federer's alltime record for most weeks as ATP world number one on Monday, holding the top spot for the 310th week.

Diokovic's ninth Australian Open title last month guaranteed that he would surpass Federer's record on

Having reached another milestone in his illustrious career, Djokovic had said he would look to adjust his calendar and make overhauling Federer and Rafa Nadal's joint-record of 20 Grand Slam titles his top priority.

"Now, after achieving the historic number one for the longest weeks at number one, it's going to be a relief for me because I'm going to focus all my attention on Slams mostly," the Serb had said after his title triumph at Melbourne Park.

"When you are going for number one ranking, you kind of have to be playing the entire season and you have to be playing well, you have to play all the tournaments.

Al Ahli crowned volleyball champions

Victors upset 2020 titlists Muharrag in four sets to claim two-game sweep of finals series in Isa bin **Rashid League**

 Bahrain Volleyball Association president Shaikh Ali bin Mohammed Al Khalifa presents Ahli, Muharraq their respective trophies, medals in post-game ceremony

Ahli claim third title in history of the league, adding to their championships in the 2014/2015 and 2017/2018 seasons

TDT | Manama

The 2020/2021 Isa bin teams were presented their reloss against Muharraq in last Rashid Bahrain First Division Volleyball League.

thrilling 3-1 (25-22, 24-26, 25-21, Khalifa. Other BVA and club of-26-24) victory over Muharraq, ficials were also on hand. which earned them a two-game sweep of their best-of-three fi- only their third title in the his- round. nals series.



Ahli team members and club officials celebrate at the awarding

Following the match, which in the 2017/2018 season, while was played at the Bahrain Vol-1 Ahli were last night leyball Association (BVA) arena in 2014/2015. crowned champions of at Isa Sports City in Riffa, both spective trophies and medals in a ceremony by BVA president which they lost in two games. Ahli claimed the title after a Shaikh Ali bin Mohammed Al The victors were also able to

tory of the league. They last won

their first championship came

Ahli were able to avenge their season's championship round, upset their highly favoured ri-

In last night's clash, all four from Cameroon professional Isa bin Rashid Al Khalifa.



With last night's result, Ahli were able to exact revenge on Muharraq, who defeated Ahli in two games to clinch the 2020 volleyball league title

sets were tightly contested as Ahli were looking to secure the for their lives, with the hopes of sending the finals series to a winner-take-all third game.

the beginning as they took the Khairallah, Bader Mohammed first set in convincing fashion. They appeared to be on their way to a two-set advantage late vals, who were the top seeds in the second but Muharraq With the result, Ahli claimed at the end of the preliminary were able to rally and tie the honour of former Bahrain Olymproceedings at 1-1 on a smash pic Committee president Shaikh

Yvan Arthur Kody Bitjaa.

It was a minor blip for Ahli in the contest as they were able to regroup in the third set and regain the match advantage. Then, in the fourth, they moved to the brink of securing the title at 24-22, but Muharraq were able to score the next two points, which included a Mohammed Anan error that tied it at 24-all.

But that set the stage for Ahli's title-clinchers, both of which were sent home by skipper Ali Al Sairifi at the net.

Ahli also had key contributions in their win from Brazilian import Luis Fernando Venceslau, and their other top Bahraini talents including Nasser Anan, Abbas Al Khabaaz, Ali title, but Muharraq were battling Marhoon, Ali Sairifi, Ali Habib and libero Ayman Haroona.

Muharraq were led by local stars Fadhel Abbas, Mahmood Ahli were the aggressors from Al Afia, Hussain Haikki, Ali and Mohammed Habib, as well as Bitjaa.

The 2020/2021 first division volleyball league was held in



Bahrain to host Group A matches in AFC Cup 2021

TDT | Manama

 ${f B}$ ahrain has been confirmed as host of Group A in the AFC Cup 2021 group stage.

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) announced yesterday the centralised venues of the various groups in the competition. They were determined "following an extensive bidding process and after close consultation with its Participating Member Associations," the AFC said.

rain league champions Hidd, Play-off. Al Nasr of Oman, Al Wahda The AFC Cup 2021 group of Syria and defending cham- stage will see 39 clubs com-

in the tournament, with Mu- This edition will also award harraq competing in Group B. the winning team a place in the Muharraq, who are the 2008 preliminary stage of the 2022 AFC Cup winners, are along- AFC Champions League. side Al Ansar FC of Lebanon, Al Salt of Jordan and Balata off with the preliminary round Centre of Palestine.

in the Jordanian capital of the centralised venues begin-Amman, along with those in ning May 14.



The AFC Cup

Group C, which comprises Al Faisaly of Jordan, Al Seeb of Group A from the West Oman, Tishreen of Syria and Zone includes reigning Bah- the winner of a West Zone

pions Al Ahed FC of Lebanon. peting, an increase of three Bahrain have another team from 2019, over 10 groups.

Action is scheduled to kick on April 6, with the group Their matches will be staged stage matches to be played in

AFC Cup 2021

Group A: Al Ahed FC (LBN), Hidd (BRN), Al Wahda (SYR), Al Nasr (OMA)

Group B: Al Salt (JOR), Balata Center (PLE), Al Ansar (LBN), Muharrag (BRN)

Group C: Tishreen (SYR), Al Seeb (OMA), Al Faisaly JOR), PLE-KUW P/O Winner

Group D: ATK Mohun Bagan (IND), Bashundhara Kings (BAN), Maziya Sports & Recreation (MDV), IND-BAN-NEP-SRI-MDV-BHU P/O Winner

Group E: FC Ravshan (TJK), FC Dordoi (KGZ), Ahal FC (TKM)

Group F: AGMK/Nasaf (UZB), Altyn Aysr (TKM), FC Khujand (TJK), FC Alay (KGZ) Group G: Hanoi FC (VIE), Bali United (IDN), Boeung Ket (CAM), MYA-LAO-BRU P/O Winner

Group H: Kedah Darul Aman (MAS), Lion City Sailors (SIN), Saigon FC (VIE), IDN-CAM-TLS P/O Winner

Group I: Kaya FC-Iloilo (PHI), Shan United/Ayeyawady United (MYA), Terengganu FC (MAS), Geylang International (SIN)

Group J: Eastern Long Lions (HKG), Tainan City (TPE), Athletic 220 (MNG), Lee Man (HKG)