



SPORTS

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

DT News Network Manama

Thaled Alsaei was crowned Khaled Alsact was the the MAX category champion in the Bahrain Rotax Mojo Max Challenge (BRMMC) following the narrowest of victories in the season-ending race held at Bahrain International Karting Circuit (BIKC) in Sakhir.

Alsaie won the championship finale by just 0.504 seconds ahead of Abdulla Al Thawadi and (+4.078) in front of Hussain Hassan.

That earned him enough points to just get by with the title, as he topped the overall classification by just two points.

In other classes, Talal Beshara was named champion of the BRMMC's Junior Max category, Anthony Genocchio was victorious in the BRMMC's Max Masters, and Rashid Almuammari was crowned champion in the Bahrain Sodi Sprint Championship (SSWS). Both the BRMMC and the SSWS make up the annual Bahrain Karting Sprint Championship (BKSC).

In the BRMMC, Alsaie headed into the concluding meeting engaged in a heated battle for the title with Hassan and Mohammed Mattar.

In the pre-final race, things were set up for a nail-biting finish as Hassan showed off his pace by winning ahead of Alsaei. But in the Final, it was Alsaei (14 minutes 24.596) who did enough to clinch the victory in 14 minutes 24.596 seconds and win the season crown.

Hassan's classification in third cost him some crucial points, while Mattar was ranked fourth. Alsaei (195 points) topped the

standings, followed by Hassan (193) a close second.

In the Junior Max class, Beshara (14:39.659) had twice the reason to celebrate by taking home both the race and season wins as he dominated ahead of runner-up Alexander Bekkers (+15.629) with Anas Lecaillon claiming the last podium spot.

Beshara (140) topped the standings followed by Lecallion (125) with Bekkers (117) third.

Genocchio clinched the Max Masters crown 50 points ahead of Mohammed Faqihi, while Batelco Racing Drag965 were the BRMMC's Entrant winners with 664 points overall for the season.

Meanwhile, in the SSWS, Almuammari won the season's title but only after Buhindi raced to the chequered flag in a thrilling final race.

Buhindi outsprinted Almuammari by a mere 0.084 seconds as 17 karters took to the grid for the last SSWS race, with Yousif Khamiri (+9.430) securing the final podium place.

Almuammari (252) topped the standings followed by Buhindi (233) with Ahmed Ebrahim (153) in third.

Following all the racing, the winners were presented their respective trophies by officials.

The BRMMC is the BKSC's category for Rotax kart owners while the SSWS is an arriveand-drive championship where competitors race against each other in identical Sodikarts.

0.504 seconds



Advt : Strategic Publicity & Advertising Co.W.L.L Printed and published by Al Ayam Publishing

Hon.Chairman Najeb Yacob Alhamer | Responsible Editor Mahmood Al Mahmood | Chief Editor Soman Baby Managing Editor P. Unnikrishnan Adviser Med Jones Tel: 17270710, Fax17256470, Email: marketing@dt.bh Newsroom: Tel: 17579911, Fax17250150, Email: news@dt.bh Subscription & circulation: Tel: 38444698/17579877/Fax17250150, Email:subscription@dt.bh Website: www.newsofbahrain.com