



SPORTS

24

Saturday, March 24, 2018



DT News Network Manama

The women's pairing of Marian Jade Capadocia and Fatma Al Nabhani, and the men's tandem of Marek Gengel and Dominik Kellovsky, were on Friday evening crowned champions of their respective doubles competitions in the Bahrain ITF Futures Tennis Tournament 2018 at Bahrain Tennis Club (BTC).

Meanwhile, third seed Nastja Kolar of Slovenia set up an exciting title clash with fourth seed Tereza Mihalikova of Slovakia in the Women's Singles. On the men's side, unseeded Riccardo Maiga of Switzerland will take on third seed Jelle Sels of the



Womens Doubles Winner Netherlands for the right to claim their Singles crown.

Both finals are scheduled for today at the BTC hardcourts. The women's match is at 3pm, followed by the men's no earlier than 5pm. The awards presentation and closing ceremony follow.

The new doubles champions were handed over their trophies yesterday night in a ceremony attended by BTC President Khamis Al Muqla; BTC Board Members Dr. Faisal Al Mosawi, Hussain Al Mukharraq and Khalid Ghuloom; and Tournament

Director Ali Khonji.

The Bahrain ITF Futures Tennis Tournament 2018 is being held under the patronage of His Majesty the King's Charity Works and Youth Affairs Representative, Supreme Council for Youth and Sports Chairman and Bahrain Olympic Committee President Shaikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalifa. It is supported by the Ministry of Youth and Sports Affairs and is sponsored by E K Kanoo and Bahrain Duty Free.

In the Doubles, fan favourites Capadocia from

the Philippines and Al Nabhani of Oman upset the top-seeded pairing of Valeria Bhunu of Zimbabwe and Emily Webley-Smith of Great Britain 7-5, 6-2. They battled back from a 2-4 deficit in a tight first set, and then in the second took a 5-0 lead before securing their championship in another three games.

In the Men's Doubles final, the Czech pair of Gengel and Kellovsky lived up to their billing as second seeds in beating American fourth seeds Robert Galloway and Anderson Reed 6-3, 3-6, [10-6]. They took home their winners' trophy in a match that lasted an hour and 22 minutes. (Continued on page 22)